Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission


Nominations Open for MLK Leadership Awards

The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission wants to recognize people who build full lives upon the foundation he set. Awards will be given to youths as well as adults. If you know someone who embodies what Dr. King and others stood for, nominate them for an award! The deadline is Thursday, December 22, 2016. More info ...

2017​ MLK Celebration

Planning is underway for the January 2017 annual celebration of Martin Luther King Jr. Stay tuned to this page for further information.



The Martin Luther King, Jr. State Commission is composed of members appointed by the Governor from diverse backgrounds in Kentucky life, including persons associated with labor, industry, commerce, government, civil rights, education, youth organizations, sports, fine arts and entertainment.

The Commission’s mission statement is to:

  • Promote the annual MLK holiday each January as an occasion to reflect on the principles of racial equality and nonviolent social change as espoused by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
  • Encourage appropriate ceremonies and activities relating to the King Holiday.
  • Promote community service in honor of the principles taught by Dr. King.
  • Provide advice and assistance to local governments and private organizations with respect to observance of the holiday.
  • Promote the holiday for interracial cooperation and youth antiviolence initiatives.
  • Whereas, we honor this mortal man, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., who made the ultimate sacrifice; therefore, it is the Commission’s intention to promote unity, equality and justice for all people in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the United States and the world.


Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission Members

Michael "Big Mike" Johnson
Waymen Eddings
Shannon Ramsey
Wanda Washington
Nora Rose Moosnick
Soreyda B. Begley
Yvette Smith
Tiffany Yeast
Kirby Bennett
Melvin Turner
Clinton N. Morris
Kevin Russell
Sasha Love-Higgins



The King Center

Martin Luther King Jr. National Day of Service

Kentucky AmeriCorps MLK Day of Service Projects​​​​​

Contact Us

Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission
Governor's Office of Minority Empowerment
700 Capitol Avenue, Suite 146
Frankfort, KY 40601